KRVU / KZVU discontinues some KTVU news simulcasts.

KRVU-LD 21 / Chico, KZVU-LD 22 / Redding and KECA-LD 29.2 / Eureka (“MyTV Northern California”)

FIRST ON THE BLOG: Northern California hasn’t been checked in my books often, but I just did and found out of a regional simulcast group that no longer simulcasts some of a big station’s newscasts.

Recently now and more likely for months now, KRVU 21/KZVU 22, otherwise known as MyTV Northern California, has discontinued some simulcasts of newscasts from San Francisco’s top station, KTVU 2. The station has stopped simulcasting the weeknight KTVU Channel 2 News at 6:00, the Sunday KTVU Channel 2 News at 5:00 and the nightly editions of The 10:00 O’Clock News on KTVU Channel 2.

The stations are trying to go more local now, since these stations are owned by the same people as KRCR 7 (the leader in news in Chico-Redding) and KCVU 20 in Chico-Redding, the same market area as KRVU 21/KZVU 22. However, the simulcasts of the weekday KTVU Channel 2 Morning News at 6:00 a.m.KTVU Mornings on 2 at 7:00/8:00 a.m. and KTVU Channel 2 News at Noon do still remain, which only leaves the stations’ simulcasts of KTVU, now reduced to 5 days a week, instead of 7 like before.

Less San Francisco news, less often in Northern California.

3 thoughts on “KRVU / KZVU discontinues some KTVU news simulcasts.

  1. California Broadcasting, Inc., owns the ABC affiliate, the FOX affiliate, and the MyTV affiliate in the Redding-Chico market. That only leaves the CBS and NBC affiliates to be owned by others. Isn’t there a FCC mandate that prevents one media company from owning too many (the majority) stations in one market? I can see why KRVU is trying to concentrate on local news but I see other reasons. I grew up in in Southern California, the birthplace of local news broadcasts, and, without question, top-rated professional presentation of the news. For the last 25 years, I have lived in Northern California, both in the San Francisco area and the Redding area. As you stated, and everybody else knows, KTVU provides the best news broadcasts in Northern California. It’s nice to have a regional perspective of the news in addition to having only the very local news or the national news broadcasts. Having lived in Redding for a bit over 15 years, I have learned that the area demographic shows a narrow-minded outlook on people’s surroundings. Very few people in Redding grow up and move away. Very few people in Redding want outsiders to come in to help improve their lifestyle and economy. And few people in Redding could care less about news outside of the immediate area, if they even care to pay attention to the news at all. The worst thing about watching the ‘local’ news in the Redding-Chico market is the amateur presentation, not only by the reporters and anchors but also the directors and technicians in the studio and control room. Thankfully, I can use my computer and iPad to stream the San Francisco(Oakland)-based news to me.

    Like

  2. When KRVU decided to cut back on KTVU 10 o’clock news last year, I decided to watch the 4:00 news, Which I was happy to see. Then they got rid of that, so I was watching the moon news. I was happy with that & happier when I saw an hour slot for that time slot, but now I am so unhappy on how they cut the news off after an half hour with INFO commercials!!! Please! I don’t watch rehash reruns, which I have seen many of those sitcoms for years & years! I want my 10 o’clock or 4 o’clock or noon full hour news back!!!! I can’t watch the morning, so I record the moon but you cut it short! Add that last half hour info commercial in one of the terrible reruns that many of us have seen for years! Please bring back my news!

    Like

Leave a Reply

