WCAV and WVAW drops “Charlottesville TONIGHT” at 7:00 p.m.

WCAV 19 / Charlottesville, VA (“CBS 19”)
WVAW-LD 16 / Charlottesville, VA (“ABC 16”)

FIRST ON THE BLOG: Charlottesville’s ONLY local newscast at 7:00 p.m. is gone.

I have just checked the Charlottesville TV listings (have not checked it since August of 2013) and have now recently realized that WCAV 19 and WVAW 16 (both owned by Gray Television) are no longer airing Charlottesville TONIGHT at 7:00 p.m. The half-hour newscast, produced by WCAV 19 and shown on both WCAV 19 and WVAW 16, is no longer shown and is replaced on WCAV 19 by Inside Edition and on WVAW 16 by Family Feud. With this, Charlottesville no longer has a 7:00 p.m. newscast as WVIR 29 doesn’t produce one at all.

This is a bad move for those who get home by 6:30 p.m. and now have to wait till 10:00 p.m. for the latest news. Bad move, WCAV 19.

4 thoughts on “WCAV and WVAW drops “Charlottesville TONIGHT” at 7:00 p.m.

  1. I think my fear of more TV stations cancelling newscasts this year then expanding newscasts is coming true. This seems like the 4th TV station this week to cut news on this blog. Do you think there is an assault on local news if this trend of local news being cut continues. If it were up to me the FCC should impose a high tax on local TV stations that cut news. I think if the FCC were to impose a high tax on TV stations that cut newscasts if would be a deterrent for stations to cut news.

    Like

    • I just let stations do what they please. I would only get upset if I was to live in that market, but since I don’t (living in DMA #16 – South Florida), I just don’t care. Let the stations do as they please. I just report it.

      Like

  2. I think we need to get consultants out of the news business I think these consultants advise TV stations to cut newscasts and replace them with more expensive syndicated programming for the good of the station where the ad revenue to the syndicated programs go to pay for the syndicated program not the local TV stations, I think this is a kind of business model that I jokenly called newsonics or stationsnomics. I think news consultants do not know a thing or could care less about the local community or about local news. If this trend of local newscast being cut continues I might have a nervous beak down. I hope to see good news on this blog next week about TV stations expanding news.

    Like

    • Yeah, but we can’t just have 24/7 local news on all 4 stations. There has to be some sort of other programming that we can watch on. Like in South Florida, if there was a 2:00 or 3:00 p.m. newscast (in which it won’t happen), I wouldn’t watch it because I would be watching Meredith Vieira and then Steve Harvey on WTVJ 6. So as much as I like having more news, there needs to be time to fit syndicated programs on every station because one station can’t carry every program.

      Like

Leave a Reply

